The CompTIA Security+ Certification is a vendor neutral credential. The CompTIA Security+ exam is an internationally recognized validation of foundation-level security skills and knowledge, and is used by organizations and security professionals around the globe.

The CompTIA Security+ exam will certify that the successful candidate has the knowledge and skills required to identify risk, to participate in risk mitigation activities, and to provide infrastructure, application, information, and operational security. In addition, the successful candidate will apply security controls to maintain confidentiality, integrity, and availability, identify appropriate technologies and products, troubleshoot security events and incidents, and operate with an awareness of applicable policies, laws, and regulations.

The CompTIA Security+ Certification is aimed at an IT security professional who has:

 A minimum of 2 years experience in IT administration with a focus on security

 Day to day technical information security experience

 Broad knowledge of security concerns and implementation including the topics in the domain list below

CompTIA Security+ is accredited by ANSI to show compliance with the ISO 17024 Standard and, as such, undergoes regular reviews and updates to the exam objectives. The following CompTIA Security+ objectives reflect the subject areas in this edition of this exam, and result from subject matter expert workshops and industry-wide survey results regarding the skills and knowledge required of an information security professional with two years of experience.

This examination blueprint includes domain weighting, test objectives, and example content. Example topics and concepts are included to clarify the test objectives and should not be construed as a comprehensive listing of all the content of this examination.

The table below lists the domain areas measured by this examination and the approximate extent to which they are represented in the examination:

Domain % of Examination

1.0 Network Security 20%

2.0 Compliance and Operational Security 18%

3.0 Threats and Vulnerabilities 20%

4.0 Application, Data and Host Security 15%

5.0 Access Control and Identity Management 15%

6.0 Cryptography 12%

Total 100%